Bluebells

Bells of plush velvet

peal across the forest floor

chiming in silence

May 2015 056

About journeyintopoetry

My name is Christine and I have been "flirting" with poetry for about a year now. In March 2011 I was diagnosed with MS and I am now embarking on a process of recovery both physically and emotionally. Recovery is a long, slow and sometimes difficult path, but can also be life changing, as I have already discovered in my recovery from alcoholism. My first task has been acceptance, which some days can be a little shaky as far as the MS goes, but I am getting there. Embracing my condition rather than wrestling with it has been important, but equally I will not allow it to define who I am. I am hoping the poetry will help with this. I know very little about poetry and its various forms etc, but I am reading and learning. So I write my poems as therapy for the MS and also because sometimes it is simply fun to do, especially as I now spend more time at home. This is a big step for me, letting others read my poems. I hope you enjoy them and they make some sense.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Bluebells

  1. Such elegance and beauty, Chris, both in your words and photo! β™₯

  2. Thanks so much Lauren, and for your comment on Fb too! xx πŸ™‚ ❀

  3. “chiming in silence,”…that’s like being so together with someone, that you don’t have to say anything. A wonderful phrase you invented here, Chris!

  4. Libby says:

    Simply beautiful.

  5. Absolutely stunning capture Chris, I love the colours and the words to brighten a dull winters night here.

  6. Sublimely lovely, Christine! XO ❀

    • Thank you very much Diane! I have never photographed bluebells close up before! 😊❀️ Xxx

      • I will never forget the bluebell wood at the Abbey. My ex and I worked at pruning the trees to let more light in and the bluebells responded sumptuously! XO ❀

      • Oh how wonderful Diane! What a great thing to do!

        I wrote a poem recently about bluebell woods here in Ilkley. I may post it sometime. It has two opposite moods to it and was written as a result of a writing prompt at the writing group. Watch this space… πŸ˜„ ❀️ ️The bluebells in my photograph are in our garden. John thinks they are from a different country, maybe Holland as we have some others which are t quite as plush as these, but I’m not sure. ❀️Xxx

  7. This really lovely, and so is the picture Christine – gorgeous! Bluebells and bluebell woods are a favourite of mine. I’m certain you would do very well with these three lines as a tweet poem! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you very much Suzy! What’s a tweet poem? x 😊

      • It’s a short poem that fits into a tweet on Twitter. You’ve only got 140 characters to write with and some of those characters you need to allocate for tags. So not many words at all. To be honest, if I didn’t do twitter poems, I don’t think I’d get much attention to my page at all, it’s a great way to draw other tweeters to your page, and your blog too.

      • Ah I see. I thought it must be something to do with Twitter. I am on Twitter technically, but haven’t really any idea what Im doing there! I joined to promote my book but Im still unsure of it and how to use it. 😊 xx

      • If you want to get an idea what to post, just click my Twitter link in my sidebar (one little one at the top and another feed of tweets further down) you can see what I do on there. I make sure to retweet quite a lot of other tweets (like a reblog) that causes a lot more interest to my page. I see a lot people just creating their own endless tweets and nothing else, and I really don’t think that works. They have no likes or retweets, and don’t add hashtags (#books #novels #poetry) those help your tweets to be found in categories. So it probably means no-one has seen their tweets at all. If you want info on the availability of your book to be retweeted by others you really need to retweet yourself, and hopefully they will do the same for you. That’s why writers on there do little poems, it’s useful and makes a break from endlessly tweeting their book, which isn’t liked much on Twitter. Much better to be appreciated for who you are and what other things you do, I think people are naturally attracted to that. Then they might notice you have a book!! Silly, I know, but I’ve been observing it for over a year, and that seems to be how it works. Give me a link to your and I’ll follow you! πŸ™‚

  8. Thanks Suzy, I will have a look. I think this link is me!

    https://mobile.twitter.com/account

  9. literaryeyes says:

    We’re waiting for ours to come out now, in our backyard. They’re already blooming in the forests. Good connection of the bells with peal and silence. I enjoy the photos on your site.

Leave a Reply

